10:33 am
Overcast, 49°
     View Program    Saturday, January 28, 2023
Leflore County Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of Leflore County. It consists of five members elected by the people every four years. The Board generally meets three times each month at the Court House.

  Your Selected Video   
Leflore County Board of Supervisors
Second Meeting of the Month
Monday, January 13, 2014

Running Time 87 min
First Posted on Tuesday, January 14, 2014 at 8:54 am
Things turned ugly at the meeting of the Leflore County Board of Supervisors when Robert Collins, who the board deposed as President at the last meeting, took the president's chair and at first refused to allow Wayne Self to conduct the meeting as President.

Collins called members out of order when they wouldn't follow his lead, and both Collins and Self would alternatively "call the question" and record the votes on various motions.

Board Attorney Joyce Chiles had provided the board members with a packet of information which she claimed tended to confirm Mr. Collins' claim to remain Board President even though three members voted to oust him at the last meeting and elected Self to take his place.

The suggestion floated about the meeting that the entire dispute would end up in court very shortly. Wolfe told Collins that if he didn't like Self being president, he should sue the Board. Collins responded that Wolfe should sue the board.

Self was supported as president by Phil Wolfe and Anjuan Brown, while Moore appeared to take a non-committal position as to who is actually board president. Moore had not been present when the vote to oust Collins took place on January 2nd.

Robert Moore insisted that the board discuss the dispute over who is the board president.

The Board went into executive session to discuss the dispute of who is actually president of the Board. No lawful reason was given why the Board should go into executive session to discuss the matter, though when asked, Wayne Self said it was "possible litigation," and the press was unlawfully excluded from this portion of the meeting. No action was taken to resolve the Board president dispute. "Possible litigation" because Board members violently disagree about board policy and might end up suing each other is no valid reason to exclude the public and go into executive session.

Dr. William Bynum, MVSU President, addressed the Board about future events at the school. Dr. John Wiess, MVSU Choir Director, followed up with a presentation.

The Board took action to accept various bids for fuel and other commodities. A discussion took place regarding the county's health insurance policy.

Circuit Clerk Elmus Stockstill updated the Board on implementation of the Voter ID initiative.

Financing for hand held radios for the volunteer fire department was approved. Main Street's annual appropriation was paid.